top of page

Catherine Bonnes AM Scholarship


Catherine Bonnes AM founded the Hearing Centre in 1985 as a small support group under the banner of Better Hearing. In 1990, the Centre was founded as it is today, being Incorporated in the October of 1995.

The Broken Hill & District Hearing Resource Centre Inc. is a voluntary-based not-for-profit organisation governed by a Committee who support Deaf, hard of hearing people, and people with an associated disorder of the ear in Broken Hill and surrounding Districts. The Hearing Centre fills the gap between Government Providers and private health professionals, our services are complementary to other allied health services within the Broken Hill and District area. Our services are available free of charge to deaf, hard of hearing people, people who suffer from associated disorders of the ear, e.g.: Tinnitus/Meniere’s, their families, and carers, to help provide a reduction in isolation/ depression caused by hearing loss or associated disorders of the ear.


The Catherine Bonnes AM Scholarship was established by the Broken Hill & District Hearing Resource Centre Inc., with the view of assisting the Deaf and people who are hard of hearing to further their education by undertaking post-secondary studies. The Scholarship consists of financial assistance towards a degree at an accredited Australian university, college of advanced studies, or other such intuitions deemed appropriate by the Scholarship panel. Recipients of the Scholarship will be known as “Catherine Bonnes AM Scholar”.

The purpose:


To provide financial assistance to deaf/hard of hearing people to assist and improve their participation and access to higher education. To Increase education opportunities for Deaf and hard of hearing students from rural and remote communities, the indigenous community and non-English speaking backgrounds are of particular importance.




     ~ Australian citizens or permanent Australian residents


     ~ Bona fide deaf/hard of hearing persons, priority given to students with an educationally significant           hearing impairment  


     ~ Selected for admission to a recognized post-secondary education course through a Registered Training   Organisation (RTO), e.g., University, Tafe course or equivalent in your State or Territory (full-time or part-time study), or other such institutions deemed appropriate by the Scholarship Panel 

What Scholarships will be available?


  At least one Scholarship each year will be available for assistance with tuition, text materials, computer/laptop or any other support considered necessary and approved by the Scholarship panel. The Catherine Bonnes AM Scholarship will comprise of two rounds per year with each round offering financial assistance of $2,000 maximum.

Preference may be given to deaf or hard of hearing applicants from one or more of the following;


                                             ~ Rural & remote area                                                                                       ~ Non-English-speaking background


                                            ~ A Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people                                          ~ Signing Deaf community

Conditions of the Scholarship:


 Scholarship funds must be expended in the year of the Scholarship being granted. A successful applicant withdrawing from the approved study program must notify the Catherine Bonnes AM Scholarship Inc. immediately and will forfeit any funds not expended. Applicants cannot be related to, or be a member of the Scholarship Panel. A scholar may re-apply in subsequent years. No scholarship will be granted to one individual student for more than a total of two consecutive years. Each Scholar will be required to provide a written report to the Scholarship panel covering their studies and activities throughout the year.

How to Apply:

Scholarship applications are open all year round and are invited from individuals across Australia.  


Application Form:

  Your application will include the following information:                                                                                                                   Application Form 

       ~  Application form – personal details

        ~ A personal statement describing your academic intentions and other interests. This should include the area of purposed study and why you wish to be a Catherine Bonnes AM Scholar. Your statement must not exceed 1000 words and be written in a direct manner. You must sign and date the statement in ink.

        ~ Admissions notice (attach copy)

        ~ Photocopy of Birth Certificate or other proof of age or proof of residency in Australia

                                  Round 1 - Applications close:  30th June each year              Round 2 - applications close:  31st December each year

Email or mail your application complete with relevant attachments to:

Catherine Bonnes AM Scholarship

9 Melbourne St                                                                                                               

Parkes NSW 2870                                                                                                                                                               

                                                                                                   Phone: 0429967734                                                Contact: Anne Woods (Public Officer/ FMO)                                 

Email:        Website:

Alternatively, you can access the website through our Facebook page:

Please ensure that you have provided all supporting documents with your application.

All applications will be presented to the Broken Hill & District Hearing Resource Centre Inc Scholarship Panel. The winning applicant will be notified in writing.

All applications will be acknowledged. The decision of the Scholarship Panel is final, and no further discussion will be entered into.


 Through the Catherine Bonnes AM Scholarship, we would like to reaffirm our commitment to assisting Deaf and hard of hearing people not only in Broken Hill but throughout Australia. We believe that together we can make a difference.

Sara -2014 Scholarship recipient_edited.
image_6483441 (1).jpg
bottom of page